I Age / Je vieillis…

Yesterday was my birthday. At the office, we always get our choice of birthday treat and an Amazon.com gift certificate for our birthday; I had asked for fruit pie or tart instead of cake, so they got some really good apple, pear, and berry tortes. I used the gift certificate to pay for part of a 120 MB portable hard drive. At home, our friend Jen was visiting; she’s making a pendant out of soapstone as a present for me. 🙂 Edmund, Jen and I had dinner at a local Indian restaurant, Zaika.

Edmund gave me a set of “noise-cancelling” earphones that baffle external sound. Pretty spooky; when you wear them without playing music, it sounds like noise sources (like, say, co-workers…) are very far away. Mom mailed her present last week but it hasn’t reached me yet; maybe it will come in tonight (we get our mail late in the day). I talked to her at lunch; she says that my brother Jean and his wife Julie bought mom, dad and themselves tickets for the same Cirque du Soleil show my sister and her family were going to last week (Edmund and I had given them tickets for Christmas), so they all went together and apparently had a great time. Yay!


C’Ă©tait ma fĂŞte hier et ça s’est bien passĂ©, mĂŞme si je suis rendue Ă  l’âge oĂą on prĂ©fère oublier les dates! Au bureau nous avons eu de la tarte tatin (j’aime bien!) et ils m’ont donnĂ© le cadeau habituel, un certificat cadeau pour Amazon.com. Je l’ai utilisĂ© pour payer une bonne partie do prix d’une unitĂ© mobile de 120 MB. Notre copine Jen nous a rendu visite; nous sommes allĂ©s manger dans un restaurant indien. Jen n’avait pas tout-Ă -fait fini mais elle me fait un pendentif en cadeau. J’aime bien les choses faites main. Edmund m’a donnĂ© un casque d’Ă©coute qui amortit les bruits extĂ©rieurs, parfait pour le bureau. Malheureusement pour mes collègues, il n’amortit pas le bruit que je produit…

Maman dit qu’elle m’apostĂ© un colis la semaine dernière mais je ne l’ai pas encore reçu. Elle m’a racontĂ© que mon frère Jean et son Ă©pouse Julie ont offert, pour la fĂŞte de maman + la fĂŞte des mères + la fĂŞte des pères = des billets pour le mĂŞme spectacle du Cirque du Soleil que Marie-Claude et sa famille allait voir la semaine dernière (cadeau de NoĂ«l d’Edmund et moi). Donc tous les huit (maman, papa, Marie-Claude, Maxime, Camille, Vincent, Jean et Julie) sont allĂ©s au cirque. Papa a grognĂ© Ă  l’avance Ă  l’idĂ©e du prix, mais je crois qu’il a aimĂ© ça après tout. C’est vrai que ce n’est pas donnĂ© mais ce sont des spectacles extraordinaires. Tout le monde a paru bien aimer la journĂ©e. 🙂

Leave a Reply

