Back in town

So I confess, the vacation was not all we’d hoped for. We ended up showing up in Seattle four days early because the weather was not good in the Rockies. Also, we discovered that Banff and Jasper National Parks are still a zoo even at the end of September. Banff is an effing mall. We just used our last few days to relax, get the laundry done, go to the movies (Stardust and Ratatouille), play a couple of games (Torg and Iron Kingdoms/True20). I started work on Thursday, and the office was pretty quiet since so many people were out to various projects.

I’m in my ascetic month, since I’m studying to take the PE (professional engineer) exam on Oct. 27. Yes, I’m a PE in Canada, but it doesn’t count here. No, I never took the exam because it’s a botheration and I never need to sign and seal anything. I agreed to take it this year so my employer could get the tick mark and the little piece of paper. I agreed to sacrifice October, but that’s it. It’s a real chore, as (1) most of this stuff I’ve never used since I studied it 20 years ago, and (2) there is no work that I want to do that requires the PE seal. Hence, no carrot in it for me, and I get to sacrifice my private life for a month. Technically, I should probably have studied for 6 months, but there is no way in hell I can manage to do that.

Other than that, I’ve resolved to contribute only to positive threads in various forums, e.g., “Tell us what you like about X” rather than “What’s wrong with Y”.

Leave a Reply

