Gay Rights

was re-posting the following entry today:

Why is that, as a culture, we are more comfortable seeing two men holding guns than holding hands?” -Ernest Gaines

We would like to know who really believes in gay rights on livejournal. There is no bribe of a miracle or anything like that. If you truly believe in gay rights, then repost this and title the post as “Gay Rights.” If you don’t believe in gay rights, then just ignore this. Thanks.

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.

Being curious by nature, I poked around the Internets to figure out the source of the meme. It appears to have originated in the first week of October 2006, and made a recent reappearance after getting tangled in the Great Web. Several earlier versions had only the first two paragraphs, yet the third appears in some of both the earliest and latest versions I could find. I’m always fascinated by the transmission of lore, including Internet lore, Xerox lore, etc. I keep wondering about the exact chain from one person to the next.

In this case, I did not manage to find the exact source; the earliest occurrence I dug up was on October 3, 2006. I don’t know who started this, or exactly why. But here’s my contribution: I believe in people’s right to pursue what makes them happy, as long as it does not harm others. I believe we should strive for justice and fairness. I believe what other consenting adults do for recreational sex in their bedroom or on the couch or the backseat or under a tree is none of my business. I believe that finding love has made my life immensely better, and that other people cannot be denied this same chance for reasons of gender preference.

I believe you should go out and kiss someone you love.

Leave a Reply

