Movies

We saw two movies today: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (that really should have been shortened to “Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull”) and David Mamet’s Redbelt. It was an interesting study in contrasts.

The best thing I can say about Indy IV is that it’s better than Indy II, a.k.a. “Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom” — but then again, that not saying much. It doesn’t ask you to suspend disbelief so much as to club it to death like a baby harp seal. The cast of actors is very good, but the writing isn’t. Still, it was light entertainment. Some people in the theatre seemed delighted with it, so maybe I’m just not in the mood.

The second movie was to give some air and water to my poor brain after starving it for a couple of hours. I generally enjoy David Mamet’s movies, and this one did not disappoint. I enjoy the fact that he makes me think, rather than just consume passively. This is the kind of movie where you want to pay attention to every scene and detail, because the director sure did. The soundtrack was good, and I enjoyed the classic compositions throughout the cinematography. I could almost read additional text by noting leading lines and power points. I really enjoyed this one.

One annoying thing though: when we sat down for Redbelt, which was in a very small projection room at the Metro, we had our choice of seat because few people had arrived so naturally we sat in “the sweet spot”. Two middle aged ladies who sat in the row behind us immediately asked us to move to another row because the theatre was “so empty”. We were surprised, since there was a good slope and you could see very well over other heads, but rather than argue we moved to the other side of the aisle, without an argument. The ladies then not only commandeered their entire row and the next, but talked through the entire movie! I can see why they wanted two rows, though: they really did sprawl across both.

At the end of the movie, I walked over to them. I took my polite-but-reproachful voice (not my “Look, you fuckheads” voice), and I told them that even though it was a small theatre, it wasn’t their living room, and that they should really know better than to disturb everyone like that. One gave me a totally fake “Oh, we were talking?” and the other started with a more hostile “Yeah, well…” I told them that yes, they did make a lot of noise, and they should think a bit more next time. And I walked out calmly.

It was important to me to tackle something like that and resolve it firmly but calmly, because frankly I’m a bundle of raw emotions right now, and I want to practice being functional again. These two ladies looked like they were probably going to head home in BMWs and didn’t give a damn how much they ruined any little people’s viewing experience — they clearly had entitlement issues — but at least they may have felt a bit of embarrassment. I hope.

Come to think of it, it’s a measure of how good the movie was, that I still enjoyed it so much!

Leave a Reply

