Weekend Roundup

Following up on yesterday’s cooking spree: the pork and apple omelette became a ham and apple omelette, because that’s what I had; alas, I’m new at cooking with a gas stove and I should not have tried cooking it on the burner. The bottom started drying up before the top was cooked at all. I finished it in the oven, which sort of rescued it, but it was still dry. Next time, it goes directly in the oven. I even marked up the recipe in the book.

I’ll also list the other recipe I plan to use this week:
Apple Gratin

8 portions. Makes a nice side dish with chicken, sausage, or pork.

4 medium white-fleshed apples (Lobo, Cortland, etc.)
1/2 garlic clove
1 teaspoon (5 mL) butter
1/2 cup (125 mL) cream
Nutmeg, salt, pepper

  1. Rub the bottom and sides of a pie plate or gratin mold with garlic and grease with butter. (I might use some garlic-infused olive oil we have.)
  2. Peel and core the apples, and slice them in thin loops; place them on the bottom of the pie plate in a spiral pattern.
  3. Season with salt, pepper and nutmeg.
  4. Cover with the cream.
  5. Cook in the oven at 425 F (220 C) so your gratin cooks as quickly as possible and the flavour of the apples combine fully with those of the garlic and cream.
  6. Serve immediately with the main course of choice.

After the less-than-perfect breakfast, we had an Emerald City Gamefest planning meeting via Skype, a very useful application. This afternoon I went shopping for clothes, since we’re getting in the colder season. I’m one of those few people in North America who don’t like shopping, so it was a quick trip. Then and I went for a late lunch at Humboldt Brews in Arcata.

I really like Humboldt County. I very sorry we left our friends back in Seattle and they refused to move with us, but this is a really nice area. And most of the shops and restaurants we loved when we lived here before are still in business.

Oh, and last night we started watching The Tick “live-action”. It was pretty funny, even if I still like the old comics best.

Leave a Reply

