Childhood accomplishments proto-meme

(Lifted from Artist’s Way by way of .)

List five childhood accomplishments.

AND

List five favorite childhood foods.
Treat yourself to one of them this week.

Five childhood accomplishments

  1. I learned to read at age 4 (I guess that’s more my mother’s accomplishment).
  2. I won first prize for drawing for my school in Grade 5. The theme was the upcoming 1976 Montreal Olympics and I drew a swimming competition.
  3. I made a lot of dolls, doll furniture, and stuffed animals for my younger siblings; but the ones I’m most proud of were Princess Leia, Darth Vader, and R2-D2 for my sister, made from scavenged parts (I attempted to make a Chewbacca too but failed miserably).
  4. In the same vein, I made Gargamel‘s house (out of cedar shingles!) and accompanied it with a mushroom-shaped birthday cake for my Smurf-crazed little sister.
  5. At age 10 I stood up to an adult to protect a 4-year old.

Five favorite childhood foods

  1. Lobster — I was caught at age 2 scarfing down the lobster meat that was supposed to garnish evening’s dinner salad. I had lobster bisque at lunch last Wednesday, does that count?
  2. Chocolate, especially dark truffle-filled. I bet one of the local chocolatiers, Bon Bonière, Grandma B’s or even Sjaak’s in Petaluma, would be able to fill that sweet tooth.
  3. Roasted chicken, rotisserie-style — gonna be hard to get, as I have not seen this style of cooking outside the Quebec sphere of influence.
  4. Strawberries but we’re out of season.
  5. Macaroni and cheese (alas, as a kid I liked the Kraft stuff, not my mom’s made-from-scratch-with-real-cheddar macaroni.)
Leave a Reply

