Monster

My husband posts a daily image based on a random photo transformed to look more like a work of drawing or painting, which he calls “photodoodles” . Usually he uses his own images, but occasionally he calls for friends and family to send him their own photos for his photo doodling; this is what he did with my “factory second” image of a totem pole from Vancouver Island. I like it!

Photodoodle (tm)

This is a detail from a totem pole.  The original photo (and the pole itself) was marred by a large, square cut in the forehead of the sculpture to place bolts for structural stability – maybe earthquake proofing.

The first thing I did after close cropping to get rid of the bolts was to adjust the perspective a little so that the eyes were more closely lined up.  I only adjusted perspective on the top half of the photo, because I decided I liked the lopsided mouth.  Then it was just a matter of playing with the saturation until I got it to the point that I wanted it, using a large sized brush for aquarial, and then unsharp mask to bring out the different blobs.

Original photo by Sophie Lagace, used with permission.

Photodoodle copyright E. Metheny.

View original post

One thought on “Monster

  1. This led me to think – if I ever get around to doing my Pacific Northwest roleplaying game, I want to illustrate all the monsters using photodoodled images from totem poles.

Leave a Reply

