Ugly acronyms: NaBloPoMo

Pen and pencil clipartA lot of my friends participate ever November in NaNoWriMo, an ugly acronym for National Novel Writing Month. I don’t, but I do like to write and this year I’ve been writing a lot. I spent a lot of time in November working on the War of Ashes RPG for Evil Hat Productions, and I also decided to participate in NaBloPoMo, an other ugly acronym for National Blog Posting Month.

I did it sub rosa, I didn’t want to register anywhere or make announcements, but I did manage to post at least one entry every single day. I didn’t cheat; I did use the scheduling feature to write some entries in advance and have them auto-post at the appointed time and day, but I did not back-date anything. As a result, this month saw the highest readership of all times for me.

After a blogging hiatus of a couple of years, the last thirteen months have been good for me, getting back into frequent writing; I see blogging as a place to shape my ideas and to practice the craft, like morning kata for writing skills. And I’ve received heart-warming feedback about some of the materials I have shared, so I count it as a success.

As for the War of Ashes RPG, I’m at 47,000 words today and I’m planning on submitting my alpha playtest draft tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

