RPG a Day: Favourite reading format

8. Do you prefer hardcover, softcover, or electronic books? What are the benefits of your preference?

Smells good!
It even smells good!

If I’m going to be playing at the game table, I prefer a print book; hardcover or softcover preferences depend on the dimensions, quality, etc. I adore the surface of Evil Hat Productions’ hardcover books in the last three years.

For checking out a book and figuring out whether I want to get into the game, though, I prefer an ebook, whether .mobi or .pdf format. I bought an inexpensive ($50) Kindle Fire 7″ tablet last winter and loaded it with electronic game books I had accumulated for years, making them way more accessible. It’s super-handy and affordable.

InSpectres-tablet

#RPGaDay2016

 

 

One thought on “RPG a Day: Favourite reading format

  1. For me Hardcover + electronic copy is ideal. I often want to access my books when I am at a computer (avoid the IDHTBIFOM syndrome), and I would like to search quickly for a particular rule or item. For some RPGs (I am looking at you D&D 3.x) one needs up to 6 books for a single character, and my back hasn’t gotten stronger over the years.

    On the other hand, I want the hardcover to read wide tables, see illustrations and maps properly, and simply read from cover to cover, and for the joy of ownership.

Leave a Reply

