Ups and Downs and Ups

Thrilling news for me: A couple of weeks ago I received the green light from Evil Hat Productions to be creative director and primary author for a new Fate Toolkit focusing on espionage, heists, and confidence jobs. For now we’re referring to it as the Fate Infiltration Toolkit, but the name may well change along the way.

Not so thrilling: A week ago I got a terse note from my employer informing me of termination. Later that week I learned that other people had been let go as well, I’m not sure whether the entire office is closing. It was a miserable job for a short-sighted company, but it was a safety net — if a flimsy one. I had already been sending resumes around but I have to step up the job search.

Thrilling again: In the same batch of emails, I received one from Vigilance Press offering me a chance to write the next Tianxia book! It’s going to be a rules compendium that will present the Fate Core rules (based on the SRD) for people who are new to both Fate and Tianxia, along with game-master advice, optional rules, and so forth. We don’t have an official title yet for that one either, so I’ve been referring to it as the Tianxia Rules Companion.

Two books! Wow! I’m so excited about this.

 

3 thoughts on “Ups and Downs and Ups

  1. Huzzah and well deserved for the book gigs. As for the day job, ugh, that’s crappy. If I can be of any use as a reference, please feel free to include me.

  2. Yay! Boo! Yay!
    Which means, on balance, more yays than boos. I’d say you’re ahead, but the karma pixies are always listening.
    Shhhhh! Be vewwy, vewwy quiet…

  3. I wish you look, and look forward to seeing these books!

    (I am perhaps undeservedly wary of Tianxia as a setting; the not-Asia part of Pathfinder’s Golarion setting is called Tian Xia, and the writing was cringey and racist.)

Leave a comment