Fate of the Mouse Guard

For No. 18 in #51in15, we played Fate of the Mouse Guard: that’s the setting from Mouse Guard with the rules from War of Ashes: Fate of Agaptus!  I asked our friend Kit to run this for Sean Nittner and his charming daughters, Edmund, and I so we could see how well the game works with miniatures but a different setting. We had a blast!

Kit introduced a fun way to kick-start character creation: when we arrived, she’d written prompts for aspect creation on index cards, twice the number of players plus one extra, such as:

Your relationship with Gorm, the sheriff of Mosswood.

Why you haven’t earned your cloak yet.

Why you’re normally never sent on patrol with one of the other PCs.

Everyone had to pick at least one. It worked great! It gave us plenty of choices, plenty of leeway in formulating the aspects, and resulted in quickly fleshing out our backstories and relationships, while tying us to the plot. I’m so stealing this in the future!

[Edit: Sean has a better description of the game on his blog.]

That's my mouse, running away from three giant spiders and dragging the bad guy with me.
That’s my mouse, running away from three giant spiders and dragging the bad guy with me.

One thought on “Fate of the Mouse Guard

Leave a comment